Campaign India Team
Jun 04, 2013

Stage set for DMAi Convention and Awards 2013; 30 entrants in the fray

Power of ‘i’ theme at this year’s event on 4 and 5 June in Mumbai

Stage set for DMAi Convention and Awards 2013; 30 entrants in the fray

Direct Marketing Association of India (DMAi) has identified data driven intelligence as a necessity for enterprises attempting to gain a competitive advantage in the global market place. At its annual DMAi Convention scheduled at The Leela in Mumbai on4 and 5 June 2013, marketers and experts will deliberate on monetising big data and converting it into intelligence for results. The Convention will also play host to the DMA Echo Awards - India on the evening of 4 June.

Focussing on the theme for the year ‘Power of i’, the agenda for the Convention has been chalked out with emphasis on the art and science of collecting, understanding and using data. All speaker sessions will come under one of these three sub-themes: Collect, Understand and Use. The Convention will be spread over four key tracks and several sessions. It will also include keynote presentations from leading practitioners from India and abroad, panel discussions and expo centres for actual business.

The association’s advisory board is chaired by Virginia Sharma, IBM, and has invited speakers from a wide array of disciplines. Among speakers are Jodie Sangster, CEO, ADMA (Australian DMA) and chair, International Federation of DMAs; Umang Bedi (Adobe India); Abhay Johary (Airtel), Chandrabhan Singh (Chennai Super Kings); Manisha Lath Gupta (Axis Bank); Venkat Mallik (RAPP, part of DDB Mudra); Manish Vij (SVG Media); Gulshan Verma (Komli Media); John Graeme Noseworthy (IBM); Steve Prebble (Aegis Media, UK); and Bob Greenberg (R/GA).

The DMAi Awards has been instituted in alliance with the DMA International ECHO Awards. With the association, all DMAi Awards winners will bypass the first round of judging and fast track to the semi-finals of the international competition.

This year, the DMA ECHO Awards – India see the launch of two new categories, namely - Media and Design Craft (Creative). The categories include respective sub-categories that cover all media channels across the marketing horizon.

Commenting on the event, chairman of the awards, Ajay Chandwani said, “Echo Award India has now gained momentum with more companies participating. Since marketing response is the fulcrum of this award I expect many clients, creative and media agencies apart from digital and direct specialists to enter in the coming years.”

The jury for the ECHO India Award 2013 include Carlton D’Silva (Hungama), Rakhshin Patel (M&C Saatchi), Anita Rajagopalan (BC Webwise), Bhaskar Sharma (Red Bull), Karthi Marshan (Kotak Mahindra Bank), Anita Varma (Digital Driftwood), Mandeep Sharma (McCann), Harshad Hardikar (Ogilvy), Anil Kakar (Gasolene) and Samit Malkani (Hansa Cequity).

Thirty companies have entered the awards this year. Participants include McCann, Ogilvy , FCB Ulka, DDB MudraMax, Contract, Lodestar, M&C Saatchi, R K Swamy BBDO, Wundermann, B C Webwise, Hansa Cequity, Havas Media, Hungama Digital, Law & Kenneth, MEC, Aquila, IBD, iProspectcommunicate2, Salt, Tonic Media.

Last year, the maiden edition of the DMAi Convention and Awards saw participation from over 100 global and Indian companies from India and abroad.

Disclosure: Campaign India is a media partner for the event.

(Visit for further details)

Campaign India