Campaign India Team
Sep 11, 2014

Uday Shankar appointed IBF president

Punit Goenka, NP Singh, Rajat Sharma, Rohit Johri take up positions

Uday Shankar appointed IBF president
Uday Shankar, CEO, Star India, was elected president at the fifteenth Annual General Meeting of the Indian Broadcasting Foundation (IBF). He takes over from Man Jit Singh, president, Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, who helmed the industry body for two years. 
The IBF Board also elected:
- Punit Goenka, managing director and chief executive office, Zee Entertainment Enterprises as vice president, measurement
- NP Singh, chief executive officer, Multi Screen Media as vice president – distribution
- Rajat Sharma, chairman and editor-in chief, India TV as vice president – strategic affairs 
- Rahul Johri, EVP and GM - South Asia, and head of revenue, pan-regional ad sales and Southeast Asia, Discovery Networks Apac as treasurer
Shankar said, “I am privileged to be trusted by the members of IBF to lead the industry body at a critical juncture when the industry needs to leap to the next level by working collaboratively with the Government and other stake holders. Punit Goenka would have been my personal preference for the president’s role since I have already done a stint as IBF president.  However, in view of Punit’s existing commitment to BARC, he proposed that I hold the reins at IBF”.
Shankar had last held the position in 2012.
Campaign India

Related Articles

Just Published

7 hours ago

TikTok faces criticism over content moderation

A debate arises over whether the short video site is doing enough to moderate content, with some calling for a ban.

7 hours ago

Pampers welcomes babies to the world with hope

Watch the film conceptualised by Leo Burnett here

7 hours ago

Work from home diary: Atmanirbhar is a huddle of one

Working from home is no good for passionate and spontaneous folks in the business of ideas, says the author