Campaign India Team
Aug 27, 2020

Krishan Premnarayen to be felicitated with AAAI's Lifetime Achievement Award for 2020

The award is billed as the highest honour to be given to an individual in India for outstanding contribution to the advertising industry

Krishan Premnarayen
Krishan Premnarayen
The Advertising Agencies Association of India (AAAI) has announced this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to Krishan Premnarayen, senior partner, Prem Associates Advertising and Marketing.
He's the 28th recipient of the award (full list below).
Premnarayen was the youngest president of the AAAI when he took charge as president in 1988 at the age of 36 years. According to a statement from the AAAI, it was his efforts that got the AAAI invitation from the I&B Ministry, Doordarshan, AI to work with them on several issues like accreditation, credit etc. 
Ashish Bhasin, president, AAAI, said, “Krishan Premnarayen, besides being the youngest ever president, made very significant contributions to the industry. It was during his tenure that the foundation was laid to make AAAI the legitimately recognized body for our industry across constituencies. He must also be given due credit for vastly strengthening AAAI’s relationships with the media industry – including while he was at the helm of ABC and NRSC. He is truly deserving of this honour.”
Nakul Chopra, chairman, AAAI Lifetime Achievement Award Selection Committee, said, “It gives me immense pleasure that this year’s Committee unanimously decided to confer this richly deserved honour on Krishan. His manifold contributions to the industry have played an important role in helping strengthen both our industry and our Association over many years. Even after he was no longer directly active with AAAI he continued to go out of his way to help, whenever called upon for an industry cause. It is somewhat fitting that he is being conferred an award, the inception of which dates back to his own tenure as president AAAI. He richly deserves this award, my heartiest congratulations to him.”
1.Subhas Ghosal -1988
2.Bal Mundkur - 1989
3. K Kurian - 1990
4. S R Ayer - 1991 
5. Alyque Padamsee - 1992 
6. Sylvester DaCunha - 1993
7. Mike Khanna - 1994
8. Subroto Sengupta - 1995 
9. Ravi Gupta - 1996
10. R K Swamy - 1997
11. A G Krishnamurthy - 1998
12. Mohammad Khan - 1999
13. Gerson da Cunha - 2000
14. Walter Saldanha - 2001
15. Diwan Arun Nanda - 2002
16. Prem Mehta - 2003
17. Goutam Rakshit - 2004
18. Ranjan Kapur - 2008
19. Sam Balsara - 2009
20. Piyush Pandey - 2010
21. Anil Kapoor - 2013
22. Ramesh Narayan - 2014
23. S V Sista - 2015
24. Srinivasan K Swamy - 2016
25. Roda Mehta - 2017
26. Ram Sehgal - 2018
27. Madhukar Kamath - 2019
Campaign India

Related Articles

Just Published

5 hours ago

Tailoring your brand’s marketing for the urban ...

Rural FMCG growth outpaces urban at 7.6% versus 5.7%—brands must cater to urban convenience and rural affordability for success.

7 hours ago

Arthur Sadoun on defying doubters, Q2 revenue ...

Publicis CEO talks to Campaign at Q2 results.

7 hours ago

Havas loses B Corp status over controversial Shell deal

After sustained pressure from environmental groups, B Lab has revoked Havas' B Corp certification, citing violations of core values due to the agency's association with Shell.

7 hours ago

MediaMonks reorganises, rebrands to Monks and puts ...

Monks’ capabilities will sit in new marketing and technology services groups.