Campaign India Team
Apr 10, 2011

Goafest 2011: Ogilvy tops metal tally with one Grand Prix and five gold metals

Leo Burnett follows with three gold metals; Mudra Communications, Creativeland Asia and McCann get two each

Goafest 2011: Ogilvy tops metal tally with one Grand Prix and five gold metals

This story, especially the tables, has proven to be a nightmare. We twice uploaded an erroneous table, causing Mudra and Bobby Pawar needless embarrassment. Sincere apologies to both. Anant Rangaswami.

Explanation: Since the organisers of the Abbys have decided not to ‘weight’ the various metals, we have decided to go by the tally given to the media by the Awards Governing Council. Simply put, the AGC decided to arrange the columns as is done in the Olympic Games: most integrated scores over most golds, scores over most silvers and, finally, most bronzes.

Seen in this light, Ogilvy & Mather is on top of the heap, with 1 Grand Prix, 5 Gold, 8 Silver and 17 Bronze metals. O&M won its grand prix for their entry titled IMC for Cadbury Dairy Milk in the Integrated category. The agency won gold metals for An Eye for India entry in the Design category,  A sensory experience to a 400 years old culinary tradition entry for Dum Pukht in the Direct category, Vodafone Blackberry Boys for Vodafone in the Film category, IMC entry for Cadbury Dairy Milk and Vodafone Blackberry Boys for Vodafone in the Integrated category.  

Top 10 agencies:


Leo Burnett managed to win 3 Gold, 8 Silver and 9 Bronze metals. Among the creative agencies, Mudra Communications, Creativeland Asia and McCann Worldgroup managed to get 2 Gold each. Among the production houses Chrome Pictures, Footcandles Films and The Flagship Advertising won 2 Gold each. Among other winners, Bates 141 and Bang Bang Films managed to make it to the top ten with 1 Gold each.

Commenting on the participation for the awards this year, Shashi Sinha, chairman, AGC said, “We had a great response from the industry this year with all the big agencies participating in the awards. In fact, we had a record number of 115 entrants submitting their entries of which 46 have won a metal this year.”

On the judging process followed for this year’s awards, Leo Burnett’s Arvind Sharma who is also part of the AGC explained, “There were two rounds of judging for Abbys this year. The shortlists were announced on the Ad Club of Bombay website which was up on display for back-checking and verifications by KPMG.”   

Complete list of winners:


Campaign India