Campaign India Team
Sep 12, 2018

D Shivakumar elected as chairman of ASCI

Rohit Gupta is vice chairman and Shashi Sinha re-appointed as treasurer

D Shivakumar elected as chairman of ASCI
D Shivakumar, group executive president, corporate strategy, Aditya Birla Group, has been elected as the chairman of The Advertising Standards Council of India. 
Rohit Gupta, president - network sales and international business, Sony Pictures Networks India was elected as the vice-chairman while Shashidhar Sinha, CEO, IPG Mediabrands was re-appointed as the honorary treasurer.
Members of the board of governors include:
  • Harish Bhat (director, Tata Global Beverages) 
  • Subhash Kamath (managing partner, BBH India)
  • Sandeep Kohli (executive director and VP for personal care, Hindustan Unilever) 
  • Prof S.K. Palekar (adjunct professor and advisor – executive education, Institute of Management Technology), 
  • N.S.  Rajan (managing director, Ketchum Sampark 
  • K.V. Sridhar (founder and CCO, Hyper Collective Creative Technologies)
  • Abanti Sankaranarayanan (former vice chairperson, CIABC) 
  • Girish Agarwal (director, Dainik Bhaskar Group) 
  • Madhusudan Gopalan (CEO, Procter & Gamble Hygiene and Health Care) 
  • Prasun Basu (president - South Asia Nielsen (India))
  • Sivakumar Sundaram (president- Revenue Bennett, Coleman & Co)
  • Vikas Agnihotri (director - sales, Google India)
  • Umesh Shrikhande (CEO, Dentsu Taproot)  
Abanti Sankaranarayanan, the outgoing chairman, ASCI, said, “2017-18 has been another strong year for ASCI as we have made significant advancements towards building our organizational muscle, external credibility and strong collaborations. Our stringent guidelines, seamless processes and the dedication and hardwork of our Consumer Complaints Council have contributed to restricting the use of misleading advertisements and enhance self regulation. ASCI’s momentous achievements for the year include successful completion of three year-long collaboration with Department of Consumer Affairs, renewal of Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Food Safety Standards Authority of India, introduction of 'Guidelines for Celebrities in Advertising' and inclusion in AYUSH’s Empowered Committee to control misleading ads of AYUSH drugs. As the Chairman for ASCI for the year 2017-18,  I am extremely proud to be a part of this journey and I am confident that under Shivakumar’s Chairmanship ASCI will continue to grow swiftly and steadily.”
Shivakumar said, “I want to thank Abanti for her stewardship. We live in changing times with respect to information, media and trust of society. ASCI has been built on the foundation of self-regulation and the wisdom of the previous chairmen and the board. It’s my privilege to do the role now." 
Campaign India

Follow us

Top news, insights and analysis every weekday

Sign up for Campaign Bulletins

Related Articles

Just Published

Taapsee Pannu lands a crispy news anchor job with Kurkure
15 hours ago

Taapsee Pannu lands a crispy news anchor job with ...

Watch the film conceptualised by Wunderman Thompson here

Torie Henderson to depart OMG
15 hours ago

Torie Henderson to depart OMG

Market-level CEOs will lead their territories as the CEO of SEA and India.

Manav Sethi joins Eros International as group CMO
Dubai Lynx 2019: Bobby Pawar, Geet Rathi, Prerna Mehra and Rathi Gangappa on jury
18 hours ago

Dubai Lynx 2019: Bobby Pawar, Geet Rathi, Prerna ...

Festival to be held between 10-13 March