Campaign India Team
Jan 07, 2019

The Times of India looks to get those 'lost votes' back ahead of 2019 elections

The campaign was conceptualised by JWT

The Times of India looks to get those 'lost votes' back ahead of 2019 elections
Ahead of the general elections later this year, The Times of India has rolled out a campaign titled 'lost votes'.
Conceptualised by J Walter Thompson, the campaign looks to get the right for voting for those who have moved away from their 'permanent address'.
Sambit Mohanty, NCD, JWT, said, "As the world's largest democracy, we have a 'conditions apply' when it comes to voting in the elections - you can only vote where you are registered! If you've moved from your hometown - in search of say, a better livelihood, a job or studies, you're a Lost Vote! It's this cause we wanted to highlight as it affects crores of Indians."
He adds, "If your phone number and bank account can move with you, why should your vote be an exception? And who better than The Times of India to take up cudgels on behalf of the masses! We hope this petition leads to tangible change and amends are made so that every Indian can vote from any part of India. No more Lost Votes!"
This comes on the back of the 2014 general elections which saw 281 million Indians who were eligible to vote – not voting. 
Read more about the campaign here.
Campaign India

Related Articles

Just Published

12 hours ago

Haresh Nayak launches Connect Network

Nayak was group MD, Posterscope South Asia

14 hours ago

Discovery acquires Zedo's assets

The holdings will allow Discovery to improve its overall customer experience

15 hours ago

Ogilvy dominates Apac network awards at Campaign AOY

UM repeats as Asia-Pacific's Media Network of the Year while Wavemaker's Gordon Domlija takes Agency Head of the Year

17 hours ago

Spikes Asia 2022: 11 from India on jury

Aalap Desai, Anil K Nair, Divya Karani, Garima Khandelwal, Geet Rathi, Prem Sundar Narayan, Sunaina Jairath, Sushant Sreeram, Swati Bhattacharya and Vashali Iyer join Sneha Iype who is a jury president