Colvyn Harris to receive AAAI Lifetime Achievement Award 2022

Harris has had 40 years of experience in the Indian Advertising industry

Nov 18, 2022 05:37:00 PM | Article | Campaign India Team

The Advertising Agencies Association of India has announced that this year’s AAAI Lifetime Achievement Award will be awarded to Colvyn Harris. 
Harris has had 40 years of experience in the Indian Advertising industry. He began his career at Hindustan Thompson Associates (HTA), where he was CEO, Contract and then CEO, JWT South Asia.
He ended his career as executive director, global growth and client development at JWT and has also been the managing director - marketing at L. Catterton Singapore. 
Harris was also president of the Advertising Agencies Association of India in 2010 and the chairperson of Goafest in 2009 and 2010.
Anupriya Acharya, president, AAAI, said, “Colvyn Harris is in every sense a true pioneer and visionary. Apart from single handedly making JWT a top agency, he has also contributed significantly to the industry in various capacities, including as President of AAAI. He’s been a key driver and pivotal force in establishing Goafest as the largest advertising festival in India.  I am pleased to say that the entire committee was unanimous in selecting Colvyn as this year’s AAAI’s Lifetime Achievement Award winner. He is truly deserving of this honour.”
Some of the past winners of this award include Subhas Ghosal, Alyque Padamsee, Mike Khanna, R K Swamy, Piyush Pandey, Sam Balsara, Prem Mehta, Roda Mehta, Ram Sehgal, Madhukar Kamath and Arvind Sharma, among others. 
The AAAI Lifetime Achievement Award is given annually to an individual who has been a practitioner of advertising for 25 years. This award was instituted in 1988 by AAAI. Arvind Sharma received the honour last year.